Women's Cross Country All-Conference Awards

Women's Cross Country All-Conference Awards

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2016 women's cross country end of the year awards. The First and Second team honors and Athlete of the Year are awarded based on finish at the SCIAC Championships. Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year are voted upon by the league's 9 head coaches. The Celia Peterson Award is nominated and voted on by the women's cross country teams of the SCIAC.

Maya Weigel repeated as Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Champion and led the Sagehens to a second place finish. Weigel, the reigning 2015 SCIAC Champion, successfully defended her title at Prado Park as she led the pack with a time of 22:39.04. Weigel has been named SCIAC Athlete of the Year in each week of the award for the 2016 season and holds course records at La Mirada and at the Pomona-Pitzer Invitational.

Sophie Walton finished in sixth place at the 2016 SCIAC Championships making her the top freshman finisher. Her time of 23:39.08 placed her 27 seconds ahead of the next-fastest freshman. At the Pomona-Pitzer Invitational held earlier in October, Walton placed 4th overall, breaking the Caltech school record by 36 seconds in the process.

Jessika Snincsak was honored with the Celia Peterson Award during the 2016 SCIAC Cross Country Championships. The annual award is presented to a senior student-athlete that best expemplifies the conference's high ideals of athletic ability, leadership, sportsmanship and academic pursuit during her association with SCIAC cross country.

The cross country coaching staff of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps has been named the Coaching Staff of the Year. Under the direction of head coach John Goldhammer the men and women have finished first or second in the SCIAC 56 times. The women's program has won 20 of the last 23 SCIAC titles while the men's team has won 16 titles.

Athlete of the Year

 Newcomer of the Year

Celia Peterson Award

Coaching Staff of the Year


Maya Weigel Sophie Walton  Jessika Snincsak

John Goldhammer
Head Coach 


Caltech Redlands



First Team  Time    
Maya Weigel 22:39.04 SR Pomona-Pitzer
Julissa Tobias 23:23.48 JR Whittier
Bryn McKillop 23:31.25 JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Carmen Mejia 23:31.33 SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Malea Martin 23:36.19 SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Sophie Walton 23:39.08 FR Caltech
Jessica Iribe 23:41.25 JR Whittier
Caroline Willian 24:02.68  SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Maria Ramirez 24:06.71 FR  Redlands
Jessika Snincsak 24:08.69 SR  Redlands
Second Team   Time    
Roxanne Valle 24:15.96 SO Occidental
Melissa Cerrillos 24:22.25 SO La Verne
Rachel Mow 24:22.98 SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Lauren Hamilton 24:25.93 FR Pomona-Pitzer
Roselyn Cantu 24:33.81 JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Maddie Bennet 24:49.14 SO Pomona-Pitzer
Laura Broderick 24:50.07 JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Aria Blumm 24:52.14 SO Occidental
Eva Townsend 24:57.58 JR Occidental
Fiona Pedrick 24:59.13 FR Occidental