SCIAC Water Polo Student-Athletes Honored by ACWPC

SCIAC Water Polo Student-Athletes Honored by ACWPC

The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announced the selection of the organization's 2017 Women's Division III All-America Team.

Comprised of 24 student-athletes, the team features players from nine institutions as Whittier College (five), California Lutheran University (four), Pomona-Pitzer Colleges (four), Macalester College (three), Chapman University (two), Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges (two), Penn State Behrend (two), Grove City College (one) and the University of La Verne (one) each garnered a minimum of one athlete on either the First, Second or Honorable Mention Division III All-America lists.

Headlining the team is 2017 Division III Player of the Year Christina Williamson from Pomona-Pitzer.  The award marks the second All-America nod of Williamson's intercollegiate career as she previously garnered Honorable Mention accolades in 2016.

She is among 12 athletes to garner multiple All-America awards as she joins fellow Pomona-Pitzer players Jocelyn Castro (2017 First Team, 2016 First Team) and goalie Ahsha Earwood (2017 First Team, 2016 First Team, 2015 Second Team); Kristi McGee (2017 First Team, 2016 Honorable Mention) of California Lutheran University; Grace Schade (2017 First Team, 2016 Second Team) and Emily Fong (2017 Second Team, 2016 Honorable Mention) of Chapman; Roxy Kiessling (2017 Second Team, 2016 First Team) and Jessica Gaffney (2017 Honorable Mention, 2016 Honorable Mention, 2015 Second Team) of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps; Guarina Garcia (2017 First Team, 2016 First Team) of La Verne; and Isabella Gorrocino (2017 First Team, 2016 Honorable Mention, 2015 First Team) of Whittier.  

Goalkeeper Bailey Meyer from Cal Lutheran was joined by teammate Nikki Roed on second team. Chessa Burke from Pomona-Pitzer and Jenel Rivera from Whittier were also named to second team.  Katia Montoya (Whittier), Victoria Rose Meek (Cal Lutheran), Anastacia Gonzalez (Whittier) and Zyania Morales (Whittier) were named Honorable Mention. 

Since 2005, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) is to promote the development and advancement of collegiate water polo.  This shall be accomplished by providing its membership with professional education, services, training and a united voice.