CMS Leads Field After Day One of SCIAC Track & Field Championships

CMS Leads Field After Day  One of SCIAC Track &  Field Championships

> SCIAC Track & Field Championships

The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) men's and women's track & field teams lead after day one of the 2018 Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Championships hosted by Redlands at Ashel Cunningham Track in Redlands, Calif.

CMS leads the field of eight scoring teams with 120 combined points, while Redlands is in second with a score of 95. Pomona-Pitzer is ranked third (76), Occidental (61) is fourth, La Verne is fifth with 45, Whitter (34) and Cal Lutheran (33) are neck-and-neck for sixth and seventh, and Chapman is eighth with four points. Day two action begins Saturday, April 28 at 4 p.m. 

In the men's hammer throw, TJ Randall of La Verne won the event with a toss of 163-10, while Reese Peterson of CMS finished second with a throw of 158-04. Michael Sill of the Stags placed third in the event with a hurl of 153-11. 

The men's pole vault featured a top performance by Zach Greenleaf of Occidental who notched a winning leap of 16-00.00. Miguel Redmond of Whittier placed second with a mark of 15-03.50, while Garrett Silva of the Poets was third with a jump of 14-11.50. 

In the men's discus throw, Sill launched a championship throw of 144-09, placing ahead of Randall (144-06). The Leopards' Michael Brown secured third place with a throw of 143-05. 

The men's long jump featured a first place finish from Ethan Hardacre of Pomona-Pitzer (23-04.00), while teammate Lucas White Moon was second (23-00.50). In third was La Verne's Kyle Ambat who notched a distance of 22-09.75. 

In the men's 3000-meter steeplechase, the Sagehens finished first and third as Daniel Rosen registered a championship time of 9:13.03, while Nicholas Beatty clocked a time of of 9:18.21. In second was Redlands' Joseph Esparza (9:17.53). 

In the men's 10000-meter run, Andy Reischling of Pomona-Pitzer cruised to a new SCIAC meet record time of 31:14.21 to claim championship honors, while Whittier's Benjamin White and the Sagehens' Nathan Stringham, placed second and third with respective times of 31:24.35 and 31:51.47. 

In the women's discus throw, Emily Bassett of CMS won the event with a throw of 136-11, while Alexa Barnes of Cal Lutheran and Kathryn Gonzalez of Redlands, finished second and third with respective tosses of 125-08 and 124-10. 

The women's shot put saw Reyna Ta'amu of Redlands who won the event with a throw of 45-07.25. In second was Basset (38-09.00), while Sabrina Degnan of Occidental was third with a hurl of 37-08.50. 

The women's pole vault saw Amanda Widen of Redlands clear 11-10.50 to win the event, while Melissa Braun of Occidental, and Gabriella Gould of the Bulldogs, tied for second at 11-06.50. 

The women's long jump featured a championship leap of 18-07.25 by Cal Lutheran's Kendall Guidetti, while Sabrine Griffith of CMS finished second with a mark of 18-07.00. In third was Occidental's Jada Newkirk (18-06.00). 

In the 3000-meter steeplechase, Ellen Berkley of CMS won the race with a time of 10:59.22, while Melissa Cerrillos of La Verne was second (11:19.14). Eva Townsend of Occidental tallied a mark of 11:32.64. 

The Athenas' Lauren Stanislaw powered to a top time of 36:58.36 in the women's 10000-meter run, while Maria Ramirez (37:19.04) and Jessica Iribe (37:22.65) placed second and third.