Women's Tennis All-Conference Honors

Women's Tennis All-Conference Honors

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2017 women's tennis end of the year awards, as voted upon by the league's eight head coaches. The awards include Athlete of the Year, Newcomer and Coaching Staff of the Year, First Team and Second Team and the Sportsmanship Team. 

Pomona-Pitzer's Caroline Casper was named the Athlete of the Year after going undefeated in conference play at the No. 1 singles position. She is currently ranked No. 1 in the region in singles and holds a 21-4 overall  record including eight-straight wins. Casper and Arianna Chen make up the No. 5 ranked team in the west with a 21-5 record. 

Freshman Nicole Tan from Claremont-Mudd-Scripps was named the Newcomer of the Year after going undefeated in Division III play in the spring in both singles and doubles. Tan split time between the No. 1 and No. 2 singles spot with her only loss coming in the fall to fellow teammate Catherine Allen. She's currently on a fifteen match winning streak in singles. Tan paired with Lindsay Brown holding down the top spot in doubles. The duo are ranked No. 1 in the west in the latest NCAA regional rankings. 

Pomona-Pitzer was named the coaching staff of the year led by head coach Ann Lebedeff for the second straight year. Lebedeff was 
honored this year by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association with the creation of a new award as endowed by sports icon, humanitarian and friend of college tennis and higher education, Billie Jean King. The ITA Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award will stand to honor a recent college graduate who played college tennis and demonstrated excellence on and off the court, leadership on his or her team, as well as on his or her college campus and in his or her community

2017 Women's Tennis Selections
Athlete of the Year: Caroline Casper, So, Pomona-Pitzer
Newcomer of the Year: Nicole Tan, Fr, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Coaching Staff of the Year: Pomona-Pitzer, Head Coach Ann Lebedeff
Sportsmanship Team: Occidental College  

First Team
Caroline Casper SO Pomona-Pitzer
Nicole Tan FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Sarah Ikioka FR Redlands
Kyla Scott
JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Maryann Zhao
SO Pomona-Pitzer
Kana Moriyama
SO Caltech
Catherine Allen
FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Arianna Chen
SO Pomona-Pitzer
Samantha Mae Coyiuto SR Pomona-Pitzer
Second Team
Katie Kuosman
SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Christie Kurdys
SO Cal Lutheran
Lindsay Brown
JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Madeline Saunders
SR Chapman
Emily Murnin
SR Redlands
Angelica Zhou
FR Caltech
Jessie Cruz
SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Emily Chen

JR Pomona-Pitzer