CMS Women Capture 2017 SCIAC Swimming & Diving Championship

CMS Women Capture 2017 SCIAC Swimming & Diving Championship

The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women led from day 1 of the 2017 SCIAC Championships and captured the title with a total of 1289 points for their eighteenth overall SCIAC championship. Pomona-Pitzer finished in second with 993 points. Redlands edged out Chapman for third with 501 while the Panthers finished with 464.5. Occidental came in fifth with 384 as Cal Lutheran came in sixth with 358 just ahead of Whittier college at seventh with 335. La Verne (258.5) and Caltech (180) finished eighth and ninth.

The evening started off with the 1650 freestyle which saw the Athenas take the top two spots with junior Elizabeth Carrade taking first with a meet record of 17:09.26 while fellow junior Lauren Rosenberger came in second in 17:36.66.  Pomona-Pitzer junior Vee Vanderpoel came in third with a time of 17:40.76.

CMS won their second event of the evening in the 200 yard backstroke as Ivy Chen took the top spot with a time of 2:03.73.  A pair of sophomores from Pomona-Pitzer took second and third as Angela Ling touched in 2:04.08 and Sarah Jin in 2:04.62.
Pomona-Pitzer won their first event of the evening as Madison Kauahi picked up the win the 100 yard freestyle in a time of 51.17. Jocelyn Crawford of CMS came in second with a time of 51.24 while Mardell Ramirez from Cal Lutheran came in third with a 51.77.
Freshman Claire Bacon-Brenes from CMS returned to the top of the podium as she took first in the 200 yard breaststroke with a time of 2:19.06. Senior Ellie Jaques from Redlands continued a dominant showing at the championships with a second place finish with a time of 2:21.48.  Senior Emily McKinnon from CMS took third with a time of 2:22.37.
Sabrina Kwan from Pomona-Pitzer took the title in the 200 butterfly with a time 2:04.95 while Naomi Ngo from CMS finished in second with a time of 2:07.33 while Caltech sophomore Brittany Percin came in third with a time of 2:08.16.
In the 400 freestyle relay CMS topped the podium as Kelly Ngo, Stephanie Doi, Emma Stacy and Jocelyn Crawford finished first with a time of 3:29.18. Pomona-Pitzer was second with a time of 3:31.03 while Chapman finished third with a time of 3:35.21