2017 SCIAC All-Conference Women's Lacrosse

2017 SCIAC All-Conference Women's Lacrosse

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2017 women's lacrosse end of the year awards, as voted upon by the league's six head coaches. The awards include Offensive and Defensive Athletes of the Year, Newcomer and Coaching Staff of the Year, First Team and Second Team and the Sportsmanship team. 

Occidental freshman Alessandra Pelliccia was tabbed the Offensive Athlete of the Year and the Newcomer of the Year.  Junior Katie Hill from Claremont-Mudd-Scripps garnered Defensive Athlete of the Year honors while the CMS coaching staff led by Lauren Uhr was named Coaching Staff of the Year. 

Pelliccia made an immediate impact for the Tigers as she led the conference in goals with 39 and points with 44. She also topped the stat sheet leading the conference in groundballs (44) and draw controls (45). She had four or more points in seven of ten SCIAC games and recorded at least a point, ground ball, and draw control in nine of ten SCIAC games. 

Hill anchored a Claremont-Mudd-Scripps defense that led the conference in GAA with a staunch 5.00. Overall the Athenas outscored their opponents 169-50. Hill had 20 ground balls on the year and chipped in with eight draw controls and eight caused turnovers.

Uhr and her coaching staff guided the Athenas to a perfect 10-0 record in the regular season and enter the postseason tournament as the top seed. CMS picked up non-conference wins over Tufts, Amherst and in-region rival Colorado College this season for a 14-1 overall record and have been receiving votes in the IWLCA coaches' poll. 

2017 SCIAC Women's Lacrosse Selections
SCIAC Offensive Athlete of the Year: Alessandra Pelliccia, Fr, Occidental 
SCIAC Defensive Athlete of the Year: Katie Hill, Jr, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
SCIAC Newcomer of the Year:  Alessandra Pelliccia, Fr, Occidental 
SCIAC Coaching Staff of the Year: Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Lauren Uhr, Head Coach 


Alessandra Pelliccia
MID FR Occidental
Katie Hill MID JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Emily Cohen
ATT FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Rebecca Long
ATT SR Pomona-Pitzer
Kelsey Mackin ATT SR Chapman
Lauren Clubb MID JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Cara Cancelmo
MID SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Hanna Morford
MID SO Redlands
Evan Murphy
MID JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Dillan Watts
DEF SR Chapman
Emma Barrow
DEF FR Occidental 
Lauren English
DEF SO Pomona-Pitzer
Sierra Slack
ATT JR Occidental 
Becka Wachtel
MID SO Chapman
Stacey Zuppa MID JR Chapman
Quinn Egan GK JR Redlands
Sophie Hubbell
MID FR Pomona-Pitzer
Emily Hansen
MID SO Whittier
Allie Hill
MID FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Ciara Byrne
MID JR Occidental
Corie Hack
MID SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Dulce Moll
ATT SR Redlands
Luisa Valles
DEF FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Lacey Bjorndal
MID JR Redlands
Sallie Marx
MID JR Pomona-Pitzer
Sadie Pickering
MID FR Redlands
Kira Weiss
DEF FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Tara Sonnemaker GK SR Chapman
Lexie Meanor ATT SO Whittier
Danielle Zahn ATT SO Chapman
Shelby Thompson
DEF SO Chapman
Zoe Pinczower MID SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Christina Sabin
DEF JR Occidental
Sammy Little
DEF FR Pomona-Pitzer
Katie Koehler
DEF JR Redlands
Jess Hansen
MID SR Whittier