2017 SCIAC Women's Golf All-Conference

2017 SCIAC Women's Golf All-Conference

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2017 women's golf end of the year awards, as voted upon by the league's head coaches. The awards include Player, Newcomer and Coaching Staff of the Year; First Team, Second Team and the Sportsmanship Award.

Caroline Ordian picked up her third straight Athlete of the Year honors after averaging a 76.0 in seven SCIAC rounds. She posted the lowest round of the SCIAC Championship with a 70 in the final 18 holes. She also recorded the only eagle in that tournament. The junior won SCIAC #2 by six strokes with a 145.  

Emma Kang was named the Newcomer of the Year after averaging the second lowest stroke total over seven SCIAC rounds with a 77. Kang shot the lowest three rounds at the SCIAC Championship for the individual title including 72 on the final day. She helped the Athenas capture the conference championship and the NCAA automatic qualifier by besting the next best team by 35 strokes. 

Ciara Clark, a junior from Whittier, was named the Sportsmanship Recipient as voted on by her fellow peers across the conference. 

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps was named the coaching staff of the year led by head coach Jodie Burton. The Athenas claimed their fourth conference title by 35 stokes over the course of the four regular season rounds plus the three championship rounds. The Athenas also won SCIAC Championship tournament by 24 strokes and will represent the SCIAC at the NCAA Division III Championships at Bay Oaks Country Club in Houston, Texas on May 9-12

2017 Women's Golf Selections
Athlete of the Year: Caroline Ordian, Jr, Redlands
Newcomer of the Year: Emma Kang, Fr, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Sportsmanship Award: Ciara Clark, Jr, Whittier
Coaching Staff of the Year: Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Head Coach Jodie Burton

First Team     
  Caroline Ordian JR Redlands 
  Margaret Loncki
JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Emma Kang FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Sophia Hui
SO Pomona-Pitzer
  Taylor Hughes
FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Valerie Wang FR Pomona-Pitzer
  Kelly Ransom SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Kari Gordon SR Redlands
Second Team    
  Kajal Vitha
SO Whittier
  Taylor Beckwith
FR Whittier
  Andi Chaloult
FR Pomona-Pitzer
  Emily Lewis
SO Chapman
  Ally Gaskill
SO Cal Lutheran
  Marissa McCardell FR Cal Lutheran
  Delaney Buck
FR Cal Lutheran