CMS Women’s Golf Heading To Florida For NCAA D-III Championships

CMS Women’s Golf Heading To Florida For NCAA D-III Championships

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division III Women's Golf Committee announced Monday the 21 teams that will participate in the 2013 NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championships and the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's golf team is in the field for the second year in a row. This is just the second season of competition for the Athenas. Last season CMS finished in 14th at the NCAA Championships. CMS earned an automatic selection this season to the NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championships by winning the SCIAC Championships which were April 27-29.

The Athenas will send a team of five to the Championships which run May 14-17 at the Baytowne Golf Course at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort in Destin, Florida. Methodist will serve as host. Sophomore Tiffany Su, junior Maya Reddy, sophomore Shaina Raskin, sophomore Marissa Suehiro and freshman Melody Sue are making the trip for the Athenas. Su was recently named the SCIAC Player of the Year for her efforts in 2013 while Raskin, Reddy and Suehiro were first team All-Conference selections. Sue earned second team honors for CMS. In 2013, Reddy led CMS with three tournament wins while Raskin won two. Reddy was the top finisher for CMS in four events while Raskin has led CMS in three.

Eleven conferences have been granted automatic qualification – CMS included –  and the remaining 10 teams were selected on an at-large basis from conferences and the remaining independent institutions. Six individuals, not from selected teams, also were selected for the championships.

The championships will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently. The tournament consists of 72 holes of play in four days of competition. In the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team's total score.

NCAA Release/Championships Field
NCAA Championships Info