SCIAC All-Conference Honors: Women's Basketball

SCIAC All-Conference Honors: Women's Basketball

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2016-17 women's basketball end of the year awards, as voted upon by the league's 9 head coaches. The awards include Player, Newcomer and Coach of the Year; First Team, Second Team and the Ed Balwdin Award.

Senior Jessica Salottolo of Cal Lutheran earned Player of the Year Honors as she led the top-scoring offense in the conference with 14.9 points per game, ranking second in field goal percentage (54.6) and eighth in both three-point percentage (37.1) and assists (2.3) despite playing just 27.4 minutes per game.  A two-time First Team All-SCIAC selection and the West Region Rookie of the Year, she caps her career with three SCIAC Postseason Tournament finals appearances and 1,338 points for the Regals.

Freshman Grace Peng is the first Beaver to earn Newcomer of the Year honors after a rookie season that saw her lead all conference freshmen in scoring (12.6) and averaged 4.1 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.9 steals while shooting 37 percent from beyond the arc.  She led the team in minutes per game (38.8) and was one of only two Beavers to start all 25 as the team posted its most wins in a season since 2009-10. 

Erin Matsumoto of Occidental College took home the Ed Baldwin Award for excellent sportsmanship, leadership and acheivement on and off the court. The senior from Oak Park, Calif. was the Tigers' team captain, starting every game this season before suffering a career-ending knee injury. She is a three year starter that scored 691 points and hit 78 three-pointers in her career. In the classroom, Erin was an excellent student, earning SCIAC All-Academic honors in every season that she was eligible. She is headed to Physical Therapy School at USC in the Fall. 

Carol Jue and her staff earned Coaching Staff of the Year honors after guiding Chapman to a 13-3 SCIAC regular and a share of the SCIAC championship. Jue, in her 14th season, led Chapman to the final of the SCIAC Postseason Tournament, the Panthers' first since their 2013-14 title and NCAA Championship appearance. The 13-3 record tied Chapman's 2015-16 mark, both of which are high-water marks since the Panthers joined the SCIAC in 2011. 


First Team      
Jessica Salottolo
SR G Cal Lutheran
Lauren Sato SR G Chapman
Jade Cheldelin
SR G Redlands
Kris Brackmann
SR F Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Alaina Woo SR G Pomona-Pitzer
Jaryn Fajardo
SO G Chapman
Reyna Ta'amu JR F Redlands

Second Team

Triana Anderson JR G Occidental
Tatiana Dunlap JR F Cal Lutheran
Megan Charles SR G Chapman
Haley Hodgson
SR F Cal Lutheran
Kate Lewis
SR F Caltech
Janelle Porter
SR G Cal Lutheran