SCIAC Announces the Women's Basketball All-SCIAC Teams

SCIAC Announces the Women's Basketball All-SCIAC Teams

LOS ANGELES, CA – The Southern Collegiate Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) announced the All-SCIAC Women’s Basketball teams today.  Occidental’s Makenzie Bandon was named the SCIAC’s Player of the Year after leading the Tigers to the SCIAC Championship. She led the SCIAC with 18.1 points per game.


Alexis Sones of Pomona-Pitzer was named the SCIAC’s Newcomer of the Year. She scored 14.6ppg, good for fourth in the SCIAC.


Theresa Juarez of Caltech and Asha Gipson of Pomona-Pitzer were named Co-Baldwin Award winners. The Ed Baldwin Memorial award is given each year to women’s basketball players who exhibit sportsmanship.


Player of the Year – Makenzie Brandon – Occidental – Junior

Newcomer of the Year – Alexis Sones – Pomona-Pitzer – Junior

Co-Baldwin Award Winner – Theresa Juarez – Caltech – Senior

Co-Baldwin Award Winner – Asha Gipson – Pomona-Pitzer- Senior


All-SCIAC First Team

Mariah Barbetti-Cort, Sr., Redlands

Courtney Carroll, Sr., Redlands

Frannie Hemmelgarn, Jr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Dannika Navales-Lugtu, Fr., Whittier

Katelyn Rowe, Jr., Occidental

Erica Whitley, Jr., Cal Lutheran


All-SCIAC Second Team

Amanda Copas, Jr., LaVerne

Channing Fleischmann, Jr., Cal Lutheran

Chelsey Hastigan, Sr., Cal Lutheran

Elizabeth Messick, So., Occidental

Megan Musashi, So., LaVerne

Kalika Tullock, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps