Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SCIAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Honors Announced

SCIAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Honors Announced

The 2017 All-Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Men's Cross Country teams were announced Thursday. First Team All-SCIAC honors were determined by the top 10 finishers at the SCIAC Championships, while the Second Team All-SCIAC members were determined by the next 10 to cross the finish line. The Newcomer, Ray Adkinson, and Coaching Staff of the Year accolades were voted on by the legue's member head coaches. 

The 2017 SCIAC Athlete of the Year was Pomona-Pitzer junior Andy Reischling who earned the men's individual championship with a winning time of 25:33.71 to win the men's 8-kilometer race. Reischling, who placed fourth overall a year ago (26:24.80), earned First Team All-SCIAC honors for the second consecutive season. As a first-year in 2015, the Seattle, Wash. native was named the SCIAC Newcomer of the Year, and received second team praise. For his efforts in 2017, Reischling helped pace the Sagehens to the program's first team title since the 2005 season. 

The 2017 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year went to Benjamin White of Whittier. White crossed the finish line 11th overall in a time of 26:24.69. The La Habra Heights, Calif. native was the second Poet to cross the line en route to earning Second Team All-SCIAC laurels. White also clocked a time of 26:33.74 at the SCIAC Multi-Duals to place 14th overall earlier in the season. 

Senior Keenan Leary of Occidental was named the 2017 Ray Adkinson Award winner. The Ray Adkinson Award is an annual accolade to a senior athlete who best exemplifies the conference's high ideals during his or her association with SCIAC cross country. These awards are named after the initial conference champions in SCIAC Cross Country history with Ray Adkinson (Pomona-Pitzer) winning the initial men's SCIAC title in 1915 and Celia Peterson (Caltech) winning the initial women's SCIAC title in 1977. In addition to garnering the Ray Adkinson Award, Leary finished the 2017 SCIAC Championship race fourth overall with a time of 26:00.61 helping the Tigers place second as a team. 

Pomona-Pitzer second-year head coach Jordan Carpenter and his staff earned the 2017 SCIAC Coaching Staff of the Year nod as the Sagehens claimed their first team title since the 2005 campaign. Four of Carpenter's runners placed in the top 10, while four others finished in the top 20 helping Pomona-Pitzer secure the SCIAC crown.                                            

SCIAC Athlete
of the Year
SCIAC Newcomer
of the Year
Ray Adkinson
SCIAC Coaching
Staff of the Year
Andy Reischling
Benjamin White
Keenan Leary
Jordan Carpenter
First Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Andy Reischling  Pomona-Pitzer  Jr.  Seattle, Wash.
Julian Sandoval Whittier Jr. El Monte, Calif. 
Thomas D'Anieri CMS So. Wellesley, Mass. 
Keenan Leary Occidental Sr. Seattle, Wash. 
Carter Stripp Pomona-Pitzer Jr. Williamstown, Mass. 
James Kinney Pomona-Pitzer Sr. Tiburon, Calif. 
Kevin Huang CMS Sr. Willowbrook, Ill. 
Julian Degroot-Lutzner Pomona-Pitzer Jr. Philadelphia, Pa. 
Timothy Kahovec Cal Lutheran Sr. Saugus, Calif. 
Tristan Santos Occidental Jr. Boulder, Colo. 
Second Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Benjamin White Whittier Fr.  La Habra Heights, Calif.
Owen Woo Pomona-Pitzer Fr. Berkeley, Calif. 
Nicholas Vucovich Pomona-Pitzer Sr. Palatine, Ill. 
Colin Mulligan Pomona-Pitzer Jr. Princeton, N.J. 
Joseph Esparza Redlands Jr. Arcata, Calif. 
Benjamin Casey Redlands Jr. Highland Park, Ill. 
Thomas Robertson Occidental So. Newport Beach, Calif. 
Hugo Ward Pomona-Pitzer Fr. Stockholm, Sweden 
Brody Barkan Occidental Jr. San Anselmo, Calif. 
Jovani Barajas Occidental Sr. Richmond, Calif.