SCIAC Announces Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team

SCIAC Announces Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2016 men's cross country end of the year awards. The First and Second team honors and Athlete of the Year are awarded based on finish at the SCIAC Championships. Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year are voted upon by the league's 9 head coaches. The Ray Adkinson Award is nominated and voted on by the men's cross country teams of the SCIAC.

With his best career finish Julian Sandoval won the individual title earning SCIAC Athlete of the Year honors. His time of 25:48.77 took down a 17-year old course record  and led Whittier to a third-place finish. 

Brody Barkan finished in sixth place overall as the Occidental men's cross country team took fourth place at the SCIAC Championship Meet. Barkan, who's been improving all season, completed the 8k run in 26 minutes, 27.28 seconds.

Ruben Solorza was honored with the Ray Adkinson Award during the 2016 SCIAC Cross Country Championships. The annual award is presented to a senior student-athlete that best expemplifies the conference's high ideals of athletic ability, leadership, sportsmanship and academic pursuit during his association with SCIAC cross country.

The cross country coaching staff of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps has been named the Coaching Staff of the Year. Under the direction of head coach John Goldhammer the men and women have finished first or second in the SCIAC 56 times. The women's program has won 20 of the last 23 SCIAC titles while the men's team has won 16 titles.

Athlete of the Year

 Newcomer of the Year

Ray Adkinson Award

Coaching Staff of the Year

Julian Sandoval

Brody Barkan

Ruben Solorza

John Goldhammer
Head Coach 


Occidental Whittier



First Team  Time
Julian Sandoval 25:48.77 SO Whittier
Joshua Sealand 25:54.59 SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Charles Watson 26:10.35 SR Pomona-Pitzer
Andy Reischling 26:24.80 SO Pomona-Pitzer
Thomas D'Anieri 26:25.25  FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Brody Barkan 26:27.28  SO Occidental
Ruben Solorza 26:27.68 SR Whittier
Osvaldo Cerda 26:29.43  SR Whittier
Keenan Leary 26:31.85 JR Occidental
Jesse Joseph 26:37.16 SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Second Team  Time    
Julian Degroot-Lutzner 26:40.99 SO Pomona-Pitzer
Elijah Orr 26:42.64 FR Chapman
JD Kieffer  26:44.50  SR Pomona-Pitzer
Nico Banks  26:46.01 SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Kevin Huey 26:50.13 SR Whittier
Garrett Ryan 26:51.72  SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Austin Sankaran 26:58.48  JR Occidental
Jovani Barajas 27:01.53 JR Occidental
Kyle Lund 27:03.23 SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Colin Mulligan 27:04.56 SO Pomona-Pitzer