Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Twenty SCIAC Men's Water Polo Players Named ACWPC All-Americans

Twenty SCIAC Men's Water Polo Players Named ACWPC All-Americans

> 2017 ACWPC Division III All-Americans

The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announced that a total of 20 student-athletes from the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) earned 2017 ACWPC Men's Varsity Division III All-America honors. 

Seven SCIAC student-athletes were named First Team All-Americans including Pomona-Pitzer goalie Daniel Diemer who was also named the 2017 Player of the Year. Teammates Adam Ward and Jacob Niskey were also selected to the first team, while Christopher Gardhouse of Cal Lutheran, Jeff O'Brien of Chapman, Noah Deer of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS), and Hans Zdolsek of Whittier each garnered first team recognition. 

Zack Rossman of CMS, Joseph Schafer of Pomona-Pitzer, Rey Julian Castillo of La Verne, Max Taylor of Redlands and Carlos Heredia Viteri of Whittier were tabbed ACWPC Second Team All-Americans. 

Eight others were voted Honorable Mention All-Americans including goalies Nick Loomis (Cal Lutheran), Wesley Hertel (Chapman), and Murat Ersoz (Whittier). Caltech's Steven Csaposs, Cal lutheran's Davey Thomas, Chapman's Kevin Dayan, Occidental's Matthew Weiser, and Whittier's Tim Aakhus rounded out the list of honorees. 

Caltech head coach Jon Bonafede, who was also voted the 2017 SCIAC Coach of the Year, earned ACWPC Coach of the Year honors, becoming the first Beavers' coach to win the award. 

Four SCIAC players are repeat All-American award winners including Ward (2017 First Team, 2016 First Team, 2015 Honorable Mention), Gardhouse (2017 First Team, 2016 Second Team 2015 Honorable Mention), O'Brien (2017 First Team, 2016 Second Team), and Deer (2017 First Team, 2016 First Team).