Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SCIAC Hauls Water Polo All-American Honors

SCIAC Hauls Water Polo All-American Honors

The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announced James Baker of Pomona-Pitzer the Divison III Player of the Year and his coach, Alex Rodriguez the Coach of the Year. In addition to these top awards, seventeen Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) student-athletes received 2016 NCAA Division III All-America honors.

The seven spots on the First Team were held by SCIAC student-athletes representing four member institutions. Goalkeeper Daniel Diemer of Pomona-Pitzer was joined by teammates James Baker and Adam Ward. Noah Deer and Ellison Taylor earned spots on the first team representing Claremont-Mudd-Scripps. Danny Hartwig of Redlands and Massimiliano Mirarchi of Whittier round out the complete first team.

University of Redlands goalkeeper Chris Sekula, Chris Gardhouse of Cal Lutheran and Jeff O'Brien of Chapman represent the SCIAC on the second team. Honorable mention goes to Cal Lutheran's Zach Card, Chris Bradley of Caltech, Alex Waggoner of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Tommy Turner of Pomona-Pizer, Rey Castillo of La Verne, Redlands' Max Taylor and Aiden Tol of Whittier.

The ACWPC All-America teams are based on nominations from and voting conducted with the head coaches from across the country. For a complete list of ACWPC All-America honorees, please follow this link