2017 Men's Track and Field All-Conference

2017 Men's Track and Field All-Conference

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced the 2017 Men's Track and Field All Conference awards as the leagues nine head coaches voted upon Track Athlete of the Year, Field Athlete of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Coaching Staff of the Year and the Dixon Farmer Award. The All-SCIAC recipients were based on performances at the SCIAC Championships. 

Mitchell Bouldin from Chapman was named the Field Athlete of the Year after arriving to the SCIAC Championships in crutches and winning the long jump with a mark of 23-07.50 breaking a school record from 1938. A baseball player in high school Mitchell joined the track team in college and exceled as a jumper and sprinter. 

Joshua Sealand from Claremont-Mudd-Scripps picked up Track Athlete of the Year Honors after a completing a very tough triple. He won the 1500m in 3:54.61 before racing a personal record in the 800m of 1:49.90 which was the fastest in a championship race since 1963. He then turned in a very gritty performance to take third in the 5k at 15:04.19. 

Newcomer of the Year laurels went to freshman Daniel Rosen from Pomona-Pitzer after a dominant performance in the steeplechase. Winning the event by 21 seconds in 9:13.5 he now owns the 8th overall time in the NCAA and is the top freshman in the nation. His time at the SCIAC Championships also put him on the Pomona-Pitzer all-time list. 

Cody Jones was named the Dixon Farmer Characer Award Recipient as voted on by his peers. Jones played baseball with cerebral palsy in high school and the Director of U.S. Paralympic Track & Field, Cathy Sellers thought he'd make an excellent thrower. He joined the Cal Lutheran track and field family and hold the title of the 2014 and 2015 U.S. Paralympic National Champion in the Javelin. Cody has also had the honor of representing the USA in the 2015 World Paralympic Championships in Doha, Qatar and the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games.

Occidental College was named the Coaching Staff of the Yead led by head coach Rob Bartlett. Bartlett led the Tigers to seven dual meet wins during the regular season and trailed CMS by 3.5 points heading into the final race of the SCIAC Championships. The 4x400 relay team from Occidental took first however the Stags ran 3:17.65 to edge La Verne for second and seal its victory. The Tigers finished second overall in the conference standings for the third year in a row. Oxy lost by 60 to CMS two years ago, by 30 last year and by less than two points in 2017. 

2017 SCIAC Men's Track and Field Selections
Field Athlete of the Year: Mitchell Bouldin, Sr, Chapman 
Track Athlete of the Year: Joshua Sealand, Sr, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 
Newcomer of the Year:  Daniel Rosen, Fr, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Dixon Farmer Character Award: Cody Jones, Sr Cal Lutheran 
Coaching Staff of the Year:  Occidental College, Head Coach Rob Bartlett

Men 100 Meter Dash      
1 Hugh Pegan JR Occidental 10.77
2 Myles Speegle SR Redlands 10.81
3 Keane Collins FR Occidental 10.97
Men 200 Meter Dash      
1 Hugh Pegan JR Occidental 21.35
2 Jeh Johnson SR Occidental 21.57
3 Josh Francis JR La Verne 21.63
Men 400 Meter Dash      
1 Gabriel Barrett-Jackson JR Occidental 48.125
2 Jeh Johnson SR Occidental 48.130
3 Joshua Francis JR La Verne 48.26
Men 800 Meter Run      
1 Joshua Sealand SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 01:49.90
2 Paul Messana SR Pomona-Pitzer 01:51.53
3 Timmy Kahovec JR Cal Lutheran 01:52.25
Men 1500 Meter Run      
1 Joshua Sealand SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 03:54.61
2 Ben Iten SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 03:56.19
3 Thomas D'Anieri FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 03:56.20
Men 5000 Meter Run      
1 Andy Reischling SO Pomona-Pitzer 14:51.95
2 Julian Sandoval  SO Whittier  15.00.39
3 Joshua Sealand SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 15:04.19
Men 10000 Meter Run      
1 Jesse Joseph SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 31:36.92
2 Austin Sankaran JR Occidental 31:50.89
3 Ruben Solorza SR Whittier 32:01.96
Men 110 Meter Hurdles      
1 Afari La-Anyane JR Redlands 15.26
2 Cal Neikirk SO Pomona-Pitzer 15.75
3 Austin DeWitz SO Occidental 16.06
Men 400 Meter Hurdles      
1 Nick Burchett SO Redlands 53.44
2 Andrew McCall SO Occidental 55.00
3 Jesus Payan SR La Verne 55.43
Men 3000 Meter Steeplechase     
1 Daniel Rosen FR Pomona-Pitzer 09:13.58
2 Parker Head SR Pomona-Pitzer 09:34.75
3 Julian Degroot-Lutzner SO Pomona-Pitzer 09:37.18
Men High Jump      
1 Austin DeWitz SO Occidental 6-09.00
2 Cam Van SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 6-05.50
3 Maliq Champion FR Redlands 6-03.50
Men Pole Vault      
1 Walker Quinn FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 14-09.50
2 Zach Greenlead SO Occidental 14-05.50
3 Zane Bodenbender SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 14-05.50
Men Long Jump      
1 Mitchell Bouldin SR Chapman 23-07.50
2 Keane Collins FR Occidental 23-03.25
3 Wyatt Pannabecker JR Redlands 22-11.00
Men Triple Jump      
1 Cam Van SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 49-03.50
2 Wyatt Pannabecker JR Redlands 46-02.50
3 Dillon Brown SO Cal Lutheran 46-00.75
Men Shot Put      
1 TJ Randall JR La Verne 51-00.00
2 Chris Gura SR La Verne 48-09.50
3 Sam Yeager SR Redlands 46-03.25
Men Discus Throw      
1 Chris Gura SR La Verne 147-03
2 Reese Peterson FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 140-06
3 Tim Krasnoperov FR Caltech 135-09
Men Hammer Throw      
1 Andrew Carrasco SR La Verne 192-01
 2 Chris Gura SR La Verne 169-07
3 Tyson Saena FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 152-09
Men Javelin Throw      
1 Calvin Aylward JR Pomona-Pitzer 209-09
2 Jesus Payan SR La Verne 173-01
3 Michael Buraciaga-Ellis SR La Verne 170-00
Men 4x100 Meter Relay      
1 Occidental     41.23
1) Jeh Johnson SR 2) Keane Collins FR
3) Hugh Pegan JR 4) Kyle Dalton SR
2 Redlands     41.64
1) Luke Bohlinger SO 2) Nick Burchett SO
3) Maliq Champion FR 4) Myles Speegle SR
3 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps     42.23
1) Cameron Finley FR 2) Cam Van SR
3) Matthew Guillory SO 4) Justin Estrada FR
Men 4x400 Meter Relay      
1 Occidental     03:16.32
1) Gabriel Barrett-Jackson JR 2) Caldwell Biddle  FR
3) Jeh Johnson SR 4) Hugh Pegan JR
2 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps     03:17.65
1) Matthew Guillory SO 2) Justin Estrada JR
3) Cameron Finley FR 4) Cam Van SR
3 La Verne     03:18.49
1) Patrick Cornwell FR 2) Jesus Payan SR
3) Jeffery Ouk SO 4) Joshua Francis JR