2017 SCIAC Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

2017 SCIAC Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2017 men's tennis end of the year awards, as voted upon by the league's eight head coaches. The awards include Athlete of the Year, Newcomer and Coaching Staff of the Year, First Team and Second Team and the Sportsmanship Team. 

Nikolai Parodi picked up Athlete and Newcomer of the Year honors after a stellar freshman season for Claremont-Mudd-Scripps.  He compiled a 24-8 records in singles overall including a 4-1 mark in conference play holding down the No. 1 position. He was 19-11 overall in doubles with a 5-3 record in conference. He represented West Region in Oracle Cup in October, finishing 7th in singles and 3rd in doubles with Glenn Hull. Parodi then become the first freshman to win both the Ojai singles title and doubles with Daniel Morkovine. The freshman came up big in the SCIAC Championship final as he clinched the 5-3 victory for the Stags with his 7-6 (3), 4-6, 6-1 victory at No.1 singles. 

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps was named the coaching staff of the year led by head coach Paul Settles. Currently ranked third in the Oracle/ITA Nationa Poll, Settles guided the Stags to 28-3 overall record with a perfect 10-0 mark in conference play. In his thirteen seasons, Coach Settles has established the CMS Stags Tennis program as the elite of Division III collegiate tennis. On the national level, CMS earned its first NCAA title in any sport in 34 years by winning the NCAA Division III Team Championship in Mason, Ohio in May of 2015.

2017 Men's Tennis Selections
Athlete of the Year: Nikolai Parodi, Fr, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 
Newcomer of the Year: Nikolai Parodi, Fr, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 
Coaching Staff of the Year: Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Head Coach Paul Settles 
Sportsmanship Team: Occidental College 

First Team
Nikolai Parodi
FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Glenn Hull SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Daniel Morkovine SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Chase Lipscomb SO Redlands 
Jake Yasgoor
SR Pomona-Pitzer
Parker Wilson SR Redlands
Ruthwick Pathireddy
SR Caltech
Andrew You SR Whittier     
Charlie Werman SR Chapman
Second Team    
Max Macey SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Jake Ly SR Redlands
Ransom Braaten
SO Cal Lutheran
Joey Dulle JR Redlands
Dara Kashani
JR Cal Lutheran
Graham Maassen
SR Pomona-Pitzer
Julian Gordy SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Daniel Park FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps