SCIAC Men's and Women's Swimming Championship - Day 1 Recap

SCIAC Men's and Women's Swimming Championship - Day 1 Recap

> SCIAC Championship Central 

The 2019 Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Swimming Championships began Thursday, February 21 at the Brenda Villa Aquatic Center in Commerce, Calif. with the 200-yard medley relay and the 800-yard freestyle relay. 

Pomona-Pitzer leads the women's nine-team field at the conference championships with 156 points after day one. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) is in second with 154 points, while Chapman is third with 108 points. Caltech is fourth with 106, followed by Occidental in fifth with 101, and California Lutheran with 82 points. Redlands is sevent with a score of 75, followed by La Verne (69) and Whittier (57). The day one scores also take into account the women's 1-meter dive which took place last weekend. 

The Sagehens won the 200-yard medley relay as the team of Angela Ling, Mackenzie Cummings, Allison Liu, and Hannah Zurmuhl clocked a time of 1:41.92 in the race. CMS captured second place honors as the team of Jocelyn Crawford, Claire Bacon-Brenes, Janet Tran and Natalia Orbach-Mandel recorded a time of 1:45.22. Occidental took third as the quartet of Emily Driscoll, Laura Chun, Claire Jang and Joan Kronick registered a time of 1:47.79. 

The women's 800-yard freestyle relay saw the Athenas' team of Allie Umemoto, Riley Hoffman, Emma Stacy, and Leila El Masri win the gold with a time of 7:37.54, while Pomona-Pitzer's squad of Kirsten Mortimer, Madison Kauahi, Anna Newman, and Hannah Zurmuhl picked up second place recognition with a time of 7:40.08. Caltech's Isabel Swafford, Danica Adams, Gemma Takahashi, and Brittany Percin placed third with a time of 7:44.62. 

After two events on the men's side, Pomona-Pitzer leads the nine-team field with 128 points, followed by CMS in second with 108 points, and Redlands in third with 92 points. Caltech is fourth with 88 points, Occidental is fifth with 84 points, while Cal Lutheran and Chapman are tied for sixth with 76 points each. La Verne and Whittier round out the field with respective scores of 64 and 24 points. 

In the 200-yard medley relay, Pomona-Pitzer's squad of Nikhil Kundu, Lukas Menkhoff, Ryan Drover, and Nick Borowsky powered to a first-place time of 1:29.49, while CMS's quartet of Dave Makhervaks, Tyler Welty, Marco Canati and Andreas Roeseler placed second with a time of 1:31.85. Caltech's Andy Rothstein, Tom Gallup, Henry Steiner, and Alex Janosi took bronze with a mark of 1:31.99. 

In the 800-yard freestyle relay, the Sagehens cliched another first-place finish, gliding to a time of 6:43.54 behind the tandem of Will Abele, Liam O'Shea, Jack Swanson, and Zachary Senator. The Stags notched second place honors as Aaron Lutzker, Ben Culberson, Michael Lee, and Jackson Crewe logged a time of 6:47.65. Placing third was the Kingsmen four of Liam McCallum, Benjamin Brewer, Stephen Blaauw, and Andreas Nybo

Action resumes Friday, February 22 with preliminaries of the 500-yard freestyle, the 200-yard individual medley, the 50-yard freestyle, and the 200-yard freestyle relay set for 9 a.m. at the Brenda Villa Aquatic Center.