SCIAC Men's Golf All-Conference Honors Announced

SCIAC Men's Golf All-Conference Honors Announced

The 2019 All-Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Men's Golf honors were announced Tuesday, following a vote by the league's member head coaches. 

Mason Chiu of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) was voted the 2019 SCIAC Athlete of the Year and a First Team All-SCIAC honoree after finishing first in the overall standings for individuals following play at SCIAC No. 1 and No. 2 and the three-day SCIAC Championships. Chiu averaged 72.14 over his seven rounds, including scores of 73 and 73 at SCIAC No. 1, and two rounds of 75 at SCIAC No. 2. Chiu then notched individual medalist honors at the SCIAC Championships after shooting a sensational 63 on day one, followed by a 71 and 75 for a three-day total of 209. 

The 2019 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year award went to Kyle Sharp of Redlands. Sharp, who was also voted First Team All-SCIAC, averaged 74.43 during seven rounds of play during the 2018-19 season, capped by impressive rounds of 72, 76 and 71 en route to bronze medal honors at the three-day SCIAC Championships. 

Griffin Tso of Chapman was the Jesse Clark Sportsmanship Award winner and was also voted Second Team All-SCIAC. Tso capped off his Panthers' career tied for eighth place at the three-day conference championships after shooting consistent rounds of 75, 73 and 75. He also shot 81 and 73 at SCIAC No. 1 (154), and posted a 153 at SCIAC No. 2 with rounds of 75 and 78. 

Head coach Eric Riehle of La Verne and the Leopards' coaching staff was tabbed the 2019 SCIAC Coaching Staff of the Year after Riehle helped guide La Verne to its first team title since 2012-13. The Leopards collected a total of 2057 strokes over SCIAC No. 1 and No. 2 and the SCIAC Championships to finish four shots ahead of second place Redlands and six strokes ahead of third place CMS. 

Lee Fulmer
Athlete of the Year

Ken Sherman
Newcomer of the Year
Jesse Clark
Sportsmanship Award
SCIAC Coaching
Staff of the Year
Mason Chiu
Kyle Sharp
Griffin Tso
Eric Riehle
La Verne
First Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Mason Chiu CMS So. San Marino, Calif.
Ken Kong CMS So. Arcadia, Calif.
Jake Hollander Redlands Jr.  Peterborough, N.H. 
Hisham Hussein La Verne Sr. San Dimas, Calif.
Cade Lawson Redlands Sr. Lake Oswego, Ore.
Pitiluk Phanomchai La Verne So. Thailand
Alex Stroes Redlands Sr. San Marcos, Calif.
Kyle Sharp Redlands Fy.  Austin, Texas
Second Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Avery Keating Chapman So. Lake Oswego, Calif. 
Austin Long CMS Jr. El Dorado Hills, Calif.
Cameron Cooper Redlands Jr. Seattle, Wash.
Griffin Tso Chapman Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Sam Miller Occidental Sr. San Francisco, Calif.
Alex Wrenn CMS Sr. Lake Oswego, Ore.
Conner Davis  La Verne  Sr. Upland, Calif.