SCIAC Men's Golf All-Conference Honors Announced

SCIAC Men's Golf All-Conference Honors Announced

The 2018 All-Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) men's golf teams were announced Thursday following a vote conducted by the league's member head coaches.

Hisham Hussein of La Verne was named the Lee Fulmer Athlete of the Year and a First Team All-SCIAC selection - his first all-conference praise of his collegiate career. Hussein finished eighth overall during the three-round of the SCIAC Championship, carding and even-par 72 on day one, followed by a 76 on day two, and a two-under-par 70 on day three. During SCIAC No. 1, Hussein fired rounds of 68 and 67 to earn individual medalist honors, before finishing fourth overall at SCIAC No. 2 with scores of 71 and 76. 

Leopards' teammate Pitiluk Phanomchai was named the Ken Sherman Newcomer of the Year after finishing the 2018 SCIAC Championship tied for 15th overall. Phanomchai registered rounds of 75, one-under 71, and 76 to help La Verne secure a second place finish over the seven rounds that count towards the SCIAC title. After placing in a tie for 20th overall at SCIAC No. 1, the Thailand native powered to a top finish at SCIAC No. 2, shooting even for the two rounds with scores of 71 and 73 respectively. 

Whittier's Nicholas Medeiros was named the Jesse Clark Sportsmanship Award winner as voted on by his peers. At SCIAC No. 1, Medeiros shot rounds of 77 and 72, and followed that with a 74 and 82 at SCIAC No. 2. At the three-day SCIAC Championship, Medeiros tied for 19th overall after registering scores of 77, 72 and 75. 

For the third time in as many years, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) head coach Bim Jollymour and his coaching staff were voted the SCIAC Coaching Staff of the Year. Jollymour guided the Stags to an opening round of 580 at SCIAC No. 1 to gain a share of the lead with La Verne, before CMS posted a combined score of 585 at SCIAC No. 2 to hold an eight stroke advantage heading into the three-day championship. From there, the Stags opened up a 33-stroke lead in the final standings as CMS logged impressive totals of 286, 282, and 287 during the SCIAC Championship for an overall score of 2020. This is the Stags' best total stroke output over the last three years of the seven-round conference tournament. CMS earned the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championship May 15-18 at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, N.C. 

Lee Fulmer
Athlete of the Year

Ken Sherman
Newcomer of the Year
Jesse Clark
Sportsmanship Award
SCIAC Coaching
Staff of the Year
Hisham Hussein
La Verne
Pitiluk Phanomchai
La Verne
Nicholas Medeiros
Bim Jollymour
First Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Hisham Hussein La Verne Jr. San Dimas, Calif.
Pitiluk Phanomchai La Verne Fy. Thailand
Jon Shaw CMS Sr. Redwood, Calif.
Johnny Brandt CMS Sr. Glendale, Calif.
Jake Hollander Redlands So. Peterborough, N.H.
Ken Kong CMS Fy. Arcadia, Calif.
Ryan Kyaw Cal Lutheran Fy. Tarzana, Calif.
Alex Wrenn CMS  Jr.  Lake Oswego, Ore.
Second Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Conor Rooney Pomona-Pitzer Jr. Netherlands
Cameron Cooper Redlands So. Seattle, Wash.
Tyler Ferrier Cal Lutheran Sr. Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.
Avery Keating Chapman Fy. Lake Oswego, Ore.
Sam Miller Occidental Jr. San Francisco, Calif.
Austin Long CMS So. El Dorado Hills, Calif.
Conner Davis La Verne Jr. Upland, Calif.