2017 Men's Golf All- Conference Team

2017 Men's Golf All- Conference Team

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2017 men's golf end of the year awards, as voted upon by the league's 8 head coaches. The awards include the Lee Fulmer Athlete of the Year, the Ken Sherman Newcomer of the Year, Coaching Staff of the Year; First Team, Second Team and the Jesse Clark Sportsmanship Award.

Dylan Jirsa was named the Lee Fulmer Athlete of the Year after posting the lowest stroke average with 72.57 in the conference across the seven rounds that count towards the conference championships. The junior finished second at SCIAC 1, third at SCIAC 2 and seventh at the Championships.  He picked up athlete of the week honors on March 20. 

Freshman Harry Brenner was named the Ken Sherman Newcomer of the Year after averaging a 74.20 across the five rounds of championship play. He was named the SCIAC athlete of the week on March 7. 

Bryan Wise was named the Jesse Clark Sportsmanship recipient as voted upon by his peers. Wise led the Panthers with a subpar round to vault into the top-10 individually. Wise fired a one-under 71 in the final round to jump up five spots to ninth with a three-round score of 222 (+6). He started the day with a birdie and parred 15 holes. He birdied again on the 13th and made just one bogey.

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps was named the Coaching Staff of the Year led by head coach Bim Jollymour. The CMS staff picked up the award for the second consecutive year after winning their 12th SCIAC Championships. Before coming into the SCIAC Championship, the Stags trailed La Verne by eight strokes, 1192 to 1184. After taking a four stroke lead after an impressive 291-stroke performance in the second round of the SCIAC Championship, the Stags improved by 10 strokes in the final day to pull away with the title. The Stags, the defending national champions, will represent the SCIAC at the NCAA Championships starting Tuesday, May 16 at the Mission Inn Resort in Howey-In-The-Hills, Florida. 

2017 Men's Golf Selections
Lee Fulmer Athlete of the Year: Dylan Jirsa, Occidental
Ken Sherman Newcomer of the Year: Harry Brenner, Fr, Jr, CMS
Jesse Clark Sportsmanship Award: Bryan Wise, Sr, Chapman
Coaching Staff of the Year: Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Head Coach Bim Jollymour

First Team     
  Dylan Jirsa JR Occidental 
  Alec Spencer
SR La Verne
  Aaron DiGiamarino
JR La Verne
  Conor Rooney
SO Pomona-Pitzer 
  Alex Stroes SO Redlands
  Bryan Wise SR Chapman
  Jon Shaw JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Austin Matzaganian SR  La Verne
Second Team    
  Alex Wrenn
SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Harry Brenner
FR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Zane Jarrett
JR California Lutheran
  Rowan Foxley
SO Redlands
  Matt Shuman JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  Nate Gray
SR California Lutheran
  Johnny Brandt
JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps