SCIAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Accolades Announced

SCIAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Accolades Announced

The 2018 All-Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) men's basketball teams were announced Friday morning following a vote conducted by the league's member head coaches.

For the second straight season, Michael Scarlett of CMS was named the David Wells Player of the Year after helping the regular season conference champion Stags secure the top seed in the upcoming SCIAC Tournament. 

Scarlett helped lead CMS to a 15-1 record in the SCIAC in 2017-18 averaging a league-best 20.1 points per game in addition to pulling down 4.3 rebounds per contest, and dishing out 2.1 assists per outing. Scarlett scored in double figures in each of the 15 conference matchups he played in, including a season-high 32-point effort against Pomona-Pitzer on Feb. 7. Scarlett has now garnered back-to-back Player of the Year and First Team All-SCIAC honors having also accomplished the feat as a junior. 

Reed Smith of Chapman was voted the SCIAC Newcomer of the Year as the Panthers clinched the fourth seed in the upcoming SCIAC Tournament with a 10-6 record in league play this year. Smith averaged 10.9 points and 5.5 rebounds per game against conference competition in addition to handing out 1.7 assists per game. Smith scored in double figures 10 times during the SCIAC slate in 2017-18, and pulled in a season-high 12 rebounds against the Sagehens on Jan. 24. 

Caltech's David Kawashima was voted as the Ted Ducey Award winner. A captain and four-year member of the Beavers' program, he is a reigning NABC Honors Court honoree and 2-time SCIAC all-academic team member who holds a 3.7 cumulative GPA as a computer science major. He interned at Fox Networks and JPL his freshman and sophomore summers, and served as a coach at Doc's Basketball Academy. He currently serves as a volunteer teacher for 4th and 5th grade students at Jefferson Elementary School in Pasadena.

Now in his 20th season at the helm, Ken Scalmanini of CMS and his staff have been voted the SCIAC Coaching Staff of the Year for the second time in as many years, and in three of the last four seasons. Scalmanini has coached the Stags to a 17-7 overall record in 2017-18, and a 15-1 mark in conference play, highlighted by a current 14-game winning streak since Jan. 3. Since taking the reins of the program in 1998, Scalmanini has coached CMS to 10 regular season titles, and five SCIAC Tournament crowns.  

David Wells
Athlete of the Year

SCIAC Newcomer
of the Year
Ted Ducey
SCIAC Coaching
Staff of the Year
Michael Scarlett
Reed Smith
David Kawashima
Ken Scalmanini
First Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Position Hometown
Zach Baines  Occidental  Jr.  Stamford, Conn. 
Austin DeWitz  Occidental  Jr.  G/F  Oregon City, Ore. 
Micah Elan  Pomona-Pitzer  So.  San Francisco, Calif. 
Kendrick Morris  CMS  Sr.  Houston, Texas 
Rob Nelsen  Chapman  Sr.  Irvine, Calif. 
Daniel Rosenbaum  Pomona-Pitzer  Jr.  Los Altos Hills, Calif. 
Michael Scarlett  CMS  Sr.  Irvine, Calif. 
Second Team All-SCIAC
Name Institution Year Position Hometown
Austin Cole  Cal Lutheran  Jr.  G/F  Redondo Beach, Calif. 
Kyle Ferreira  Cal Lutheran  Jr.  Bakersfield, Calif.
Louis Kurihara  Whittier  Sr.  Culver City, Calif. 
Scott Lynds  CMS  Sr.  Laguna Niguel, Calif. 
David Menary  Redlands  So.  Grass Valley, Calif. 
Luke Selway  Chapman  Sr.  Villa Park, Calif.