SCIAC Announces Football All-Conference Team

SCIAC Announces Football All-Conference Team

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) has announced its 2016 football end of the year awards, as voted upon by the league's 9 head coaches. The awards include Athlete, Newcomer and Coaching Staff of the Year; First Team, Second Team and the John Zinda Award.

Bryan Scott is honored as the SCIAC Athlete of the Year for Offense as he surpassed 8,000 career passing yards and set the Occidental single season passing record with 3,058 yards. He finishes his career with 9,073 yards passing, a 66.4 completion percentage, 77 touchdowns and just 22 interceptions in 33 games played.

Mitch Shepherd had 39 solo tackles on the season, 22 in conference play. The linebacker averaged 5.4 tackles per game with 2 sacks and an interception. Shepherd forced a fumble in the postseason game in the NCAA tournament against Mary Hardin-Baylor leading to the Bulldogs going on to score to had to the locker rooms up 21-14 at the half.

Freshmen quarterback Karter Odermann had an outstanding first season in the SCIAC earning Newcomer of the Year honors. Odermann had 12 completions for 175 yards with a 63.2 completion percentage. The Sagehens were 6-3 overall, 5-2 SCIAC.

Jake Glasser of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps is honored as the John Zinda award recipient. The award goes to a senior student-athlete who best exemplifies the high ideals and characteristics demonstrated by John Zinda during his tenure as Head Football Coach and Athletic Director at Claremont-Mudd-Scripps. Encompassed in these ideals are athletic and academic performance, leadership, integrity, positive attitude and sportsmanship. 

The Coaching Staff of the Year honors are given to the Pomona-Pitzer staff under head coach Roger Caron. In 21 seasons with the Sagehens Caron has coached several program record-breakers on the offensive side of the ball, including his son Jake, who set career marks for passing (8408 yards) and total offense (9224 yards from 2007-10. R.J. Maki also set receiving records (256 catches for 3070 yards) from 2007-10, while Luke Sweeney set the rushing record (3004 yards) from 2009-2012.  After taking over the Sagehens in 1994, Caron oversaw one of the best stretches in the history of the program, recording five straight winning seasons from 1995-1999. 

Athlete of the Year - Offense

Athlete of the Year - Defense


Bryan Scott

Mitch Shepherd



Newcomer of the Year

 John Zinda Award

Coaching Staff of the Year


Karter Odermann

Jake Glasser




 Roger Caron

SCIAC 2016 Football All-Conference Team

First Team      
Bryan Scott
 QB  Sr  Occidental
Matthew Kubly  OL  Sr  Cal Lutheran
Erik Gonzalez  OL  Sr  Chapman
Nicholas Lunn  OL  Jr  Occidental
Colton Coss  OL   Sr  Pomona-Pitzer
Matt Schallert  OL  Jr  Redlands
Dallas Parent  RB  Sr  La Verne
Aseal Birir  RB  Jr  Pomona-Pitzer
Aaron Lacomb  WR   Jr  Cal Lutheran
Alex Arellano  WR   Sr  La Verne
Cordell Harris  WR   Sr  Occidental
Patrick Dixon  TE  Sr  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
DeJon Rothschild  DL  Sr  Cal Lutheran
Austin Pyka  DL  Jr  Chapman
Paul Slaats  DL  Sr  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Tristan Corwin  DL  Jr  Redlands
Ben Wadors  OLB  Sr  Chapman
Brendan MacDonald  LB  Jr  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Mitch Shepherd  LB  Jr/Sr  Redlands
Obasi Dees  DB  Fr  Cal Lutheran
Victor Bunce  DB  Jr  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Elan Harris  DB  So  Pomona-Pitzer
Connor Hoffman  DB  Sr/Gr  Redlands
Lucas Alfonso  K  Jr  Chapman
Elias Deeb  P  Sr  Chapman
Cordell Harris  SPT  Sr  Occidental
Second Team      
Edward Sias  QB  So  Pomona-Pitzer
Malcolm Stolarski  OL  So  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Beau Kitson  OL  Sr  La Verne
Robert Ciafullo
 OL   Jr  Pomona-Pitzer
Tommy Garcia  OL   So  Redlands
Mark Kozhaya  OL  Sr  Whittier
Chris Beeson  RB  Jr  Cal Lutheran
Joe Mudie  RB   Jr  Chapman
Jacob Isabel  WR  Jr  Chapman
Ryan McGee  WR   So  Pomona-Pitzer
Cole Blackburn  WR   Jr  Redlands
Chris Cziesla  TE  Jr  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Henry Wei  DE  Sr  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Austin Brown  DL  So  La Verne
Josh Hardy  DL  Sr  La Verne
Jake Glasser  DL  So  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Acquarey Eddington  LB  Jr  Cal Lutheran
Evan Lloyd  LB  Jr  Pomona-Pitzer
Austin Brasher  LB  Sr  Whittier
Christopher Williams  DB  Jr  Chapman
Josh Padilla  DB  Fr  La Verne
Adam Hinthorne  DB  Jr  Pomona-Pitzer
Dustin Nascimento  DB  Jr  Redlands
Matthew Aven  K  Sr  Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Russell Boucher  P  Sr  La Verne
Jacob Isabel SPT  Jr  Chapman