Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SCIAC Baseball All-Conference Team

SCIAC Baseball All-Conference Team

ADENA, Calif – The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference recognizes athletic excellence through its All-Conference Awards. The All-Conference selections recognize outstanding participation and performance in conference play. Nominations and votes are submitted by the head coach of each team in the conference.

The SCIAC recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship in their respective sport. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. Through positive action and leadership, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship the SCIAC and the NCAA endorse. The Baseball All-Conference Sportsmanship Team consists of a student-athlete from each team that exemplifies these ideals.

SCIAC Athlete of the Year: Sam Fox, Senior, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
A four-year starter at shortstop, Fox saved his best season for last, hitting .425 with six homers and 40 RBI to lead the Sagehens to a 28-13 record and a SCIAC Tournament berth. He had a 28-game hitting streak which lasted for over two months, and had at least one hit in 39 of 41 games this season.

Fox's 74 hits on the season rank second nationally through games of May 5, while his 40 RBI this spring have come while mostly batting leadoff. Defensively, he was outstanding in conference play as well, with only five errors in 28 games at shortstop for a .962 fielding percentage. 

Fox is a dual major at Pitzer College in political studies and English with a 3.55 grade point average.

SCIAC Pitcher of the Year: Michael Collins, Junior, University of Redlands
Collins, who took on a versatile role in the Bulldogs’ successful season, was lights out for the majority of his junior campaign. Appearing in 11 SCIAC games while starting in six, the hurler notched a 5-2 record with a 2.53 ERA in 53.1 innings pitched. Collins was no run-of-the-mill pitcher, as he aggressively attacked opposing offenses with a hard, two-seam fastball and mixed in a number of quality off-speed pitches to earn him 31 strikeouts in conference action.

His control was up to par as well by only issuing 11 walks. His stamina was something to cherish, as he tossed two complete games, one coming in a 14-1 blowout victory over Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges during which he allowed just five hits and struck out two, and another was featured in a 3-2 win over Chapman University that included seven hits and one strikeout.

SCIAC Newcomer of the Year:  Felix Minjarez, Freshmen, University of Redlands
Minjarez earned the role of number one pitcher for the Bulldogs and ran away with it during the 2015 conference campaign. Boasting an undefeated SCIAC record of 5-0 with a 2.91 ERA, the freshman stud led his team in strikeouts with 45 by utilizing a picnic basket of pitches which kept the majority of opposing SCIAC offenses very off balance.

Minjarez twice went the distance on the bump, as highlighted by a no-hitter against the University of La Verne Leopards in his third-career conference start. In the game, he struck out four batters and only allowed one baserunner via walk.

SCIAC Coach of the Year: Scott Winterburn, University of La Verne
Scott Winterburn is in his 15th season as Leopard head coach and has elevated the baseball program full of rich history back to its winning tradition.

2015 marks the first SCIAC Postseason Tournament title for the Leopards. In 2012 Winterburn guided ULV squad to the SCIAC Championship - the 20th in the history of La Verne baseball - to earn a spot in NCAA Regional play.

All told, he has guided the Leos to four conference titles.  La Verne earned back-to-back SCIAC Conference titles in 2004 and 2005, finishing with a Top 20 national ranking and earning consecutive appearances to the NCAA West Regionals.  The Leos captured the league crown again in 2008 before notching his fourth SCIAC title last season.

Winterburn also serves as Assistant Athletic Director of Compliance in the La Verne Athletic Department.


 SCIAC All-Conference Teams
First Team     
P Brett Early JR University of La Verne
P Felix Minjarez FR University of Redlands
C Sean McMillan SR University of Redlands
C Stephen Zavala SR Whittier College
1B Simon Rosenbaum JR Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
1B Ben White JR University of La Verne
2B Christopher Scalisi SO University of Redlands
3B Tyler Cook JR Chapman
SS Jordan Dresner SR University of Redlands
OF Ramsey Abushahla JR Cal Lutheran University
OF Devon DeRaad SO Occidental College
OF Tanner Nishioka SO Pomona-Pitzer 
DH Collin Crowl SR Cal Lutheran University
Second Team    
P Derek Kearney SR Caltech
P Nick Byrd FR University of La Verne
P Javi Iniguez SR University of La Verne
P Scott Erickson JR Occidental College 
C Spencer DuBois SR Cal Lutheran University
C Victor Munoz SR Occidental College 
3B Kyle Sanchez SO Cal Lutheran University
SS John Wiehe JR Chapman University 
OF Connor Hancock SR University of Redlands
OF Mitch Samson JR University of Redlands
UT Mark Jebbia SR University of La Verne
UT Jake Bruml SR Pomona-Pitzer
DH MacKenzie Menthen JR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
All-Conference Sportsmanship Team
UT Ryan Casey SR Caltech
P Landry Kiyabu JR Cal Lutheran University
INF Jared Love FR Chapman University
UT Mike Gose SR Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
OF Mariano Padilla JR University of La Verne
3B AJ Libunao SR Occidental College
INF EJ Lopez SR Pomona-Pitzer
INF Mark Tumlinson JR University of Redlands
OF Chris Sekiguchi SR Whittier College