SCIAC Cross Country Teams and Student-Athletes Garner All-Academic Awards

SCIAC Cross Country Teams and Student-Athletes Garner All-Academic Awards

> USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors 

Several Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) men's and women's cross country student-athletes earned NCAA Division III Cross Country All-Academic honors as announced by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Thursday. 

To qualify for team recognition, teams must have reached a minimum of a 3.10 GPA, while only student-athletes who compete at the NCAA Regionals are eligible for the individual All-Academic awards. 

Seven of nine men's teams earned team academic honors led by Caltech which posted a team GPA of 3.73. Pomona-Pitzer followed with a 3.65, followed by Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) (3.48), Whittier (3.43), Chapman (3.42), Occidental (3.28) and California Lutheran (3.27). Eight of nine SCIAC women's teams earned the distinction led by the Saghens with a combined GPA of 3.69. CMS was second at 3.63, while Chapman totaled a 3.60. Caltech finished with a combined mark of 3.55, followed by Occidental (3.46), Cal Lutheran (3.31), Whittier (3.27) and La Verne (3.25). 

There were 11 selections on the men's side with Pomona-Pitzer leading the way with seven recipients. CMS followed with three, while Caltech had one. The 2018 SCIAC Athlete of the Year Andy Reischling was among those honored with the academic award, while thes Sagehens' Ethan Widlansky - the 2018 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year, was also recognized. 

On the women's side, 15 individuals were recognized, with CMS leading the way with seven representatives. Pomona-Pitzer followed with three, while Occidental had two. Caltech, Chapman and La Verne had one each to round out the list. Pomona-Pitzer had 2018 SCIAC Athlete of the Year Helen Guo, and 2018 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year Lila Cardillo secure the prestigious academic award. 

Men's All-Academic Recipients
Gaurav Phanse - Caltech
Miles Christensen - CMS
Alexander Hirsch - CMS
Ben Iten - CMS
Adin Becker - Pomona-Pitzer
Julian Degroot-Lutzner - Pomona-Pitzer
Dante Paszkeicz - Pomona-Pitzer
Andy Reischling - Pomona-Pitzer
Hugo Ward - Pomona-Pitzer
Ethan Widlansky - Pomona-Pitzer
Owen Woo - Pomona-Pitzer

Women's All-Academic Recipients
Claire Hu - Caltech
Arabella Reece - Chapman
Riley Harmon - CMS
Abby Johnson - CMS
Dulcie Jones - CMS
Natalie Marsh - CMS
Malea Martin - CMS
Matilda Msall - CMS
Georgia Scherer - CMS
Rachel Dela Cruz - La Verne
Aria Blumm - Occidental
Roxanne Valle - Occidental
Lila Cardillo - Pomona-Pitzer
Genevieve DiBari - Pomona-Pitzer
Helen Guo - Pomona-Pitzer