21 SCIAC Swimmers Qualified for NCAA Division III Championships

21 SCIAC Swimmers Qualified for NCAA Division III Championships

> Complete List of Men's Entries
> Men's Psych Sheets
> Complete List of Women's Entries
> Women's Psych Sheets

The complete list of participants and psych sheets for the 2018 NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving Championships were announced Tuesday. The championships will be held March 21-24 at the Indiana University Natatorium in Indianapolis, Ind. 

On the men's side, a total of 14 swimmers from five institutions will represent the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC), while 21 student-athletes from five schools on the women's side will represent the league. 

Pomona-Pitzer led the men with eight representatives, while Cal Lutheran and Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CMS) had two each. Caltech and Occidental will each send one swimmer to the national meet. For the women, the Athenas totaled 10 representatives to lead all SCIAC institutions, while the Sagehens followed with eight. Caltech, Cal Lutheran and Whittier each added an honoree. 

Returning to the national stage for the second straight year are Caltech's Tom Gallup (100-yard and 200-yard breaststroke), and Cal Lutheran's Benjamin Brewer (500-yard and 1650-yard freestyle), while first-year Kingsman Andreas Nybo will compete in the 200-yard butterfly. CMS will send the duo of Henry Limm (400-yard IM) and Samuel Willett (200-yard backstroke) to Indianapolis, Ind., while Occidental's Austin Lashley will compete in the 100-yard butterfly. 

Pomona-Pitzer, which won the men's team title at the 2018 SCIAC Championships, had eight swimmers qualify for the national meet, including George Abele, Ryan Drover, Mark Hallman (the reigning SCIAC Swimmer of the Year), Adrian Hui, and Samuel To who all qualified last year. All five of the Sagehens' relay squads will be represented at the NCAA Championships, while Drover (100-yard butterfly), Hallman (100-yard, 200-yard, and 500-yard freestyle), and To (200-yard individual medley) will participate in individual events. Additionally, Nikhil Kundu, reigning SCIAC Newcomer of the Year Lukas Menkhoff, and Liam O'Shea will make their first appearance at the national meet. Kundu will swim as part of the 200-yard medley relay, while Menkhoff will be a part of four relays as well as the 100-yard freestyle and breaststroke events. O'Shea will swim in three relays as well as the 200-yard IM. 

On the women's side Caltech's Brittany Percin (200-yard freestyle), Cal Lutheran's Grace Sanchez (50-yard freestyle), and Whittier's Brooke Geske (100-yard and 200-yard backstroke) - the 2018 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year - will be making their first appearance at the NCAA Championships. 

The Athenas will send 10 swimmers to Indianapolis Claire Bacon-Brenes and Jocelyn Crawford who each qualified a year ago. Bacon-Brenes will swim the 200-yard breaststroke and the 200-yard medley relay, while Crawford will appear in the 50-yard freestyle and the 100-yard backstroke in addition to a trio of relays. Eight others from CMS will take the deck in Indiana for the first time, including Mia Syme who will compete in the 500-yard and 1650-yard freestyle events. Natalia Mandel-Orbach will feature in all five of the Athenas' qualified relay events, while Riley Hoffman and Janet Tran will swim in three of the five relay races. Emma Stacy will compete in the 400-yard and 800-yard freestyle relays, while Laura Dickinson (200-yard freestyle relay), Bryn Edwards (400-yard medley relay), and Allie Umemoto (800-yard freestyle relay) will round out the CMS contingent. 

The Sagehens, led by 2018 SCIAC Swimmer of the Year Madison Kauahi, won the women's team crown at the 2018 SCIAC Championships for the second time in three years. Kauahi, who will compete in the 50-yard and 100-yard freestyle for the second time in as many years at the NCAA Championships, will also swim the 200-yard freestyle, and will be a part of Pomona-Pitzer's four qualifying relay squads. Sarah Jin (100-yard backstroke, 400-yard medley relay), and Angela Ling (100-yard backstroke, 200-yard medley relay) were also participants in last year's championships. Mackenzie Cummings will compete in the 100-yard breaststroke as well as both the 200-yard and 400-yard medley relays, while Hannah Zurmuhl will feature in the 50-yard freestyle, and both the 200-yard and 400-yard freestyle relays. Katherine Denend, Sabrian Kwan, and Alexandra Seidel will each swim in two relays each.