SCIAC Action in NCAA Championships

SCIAC Action in NCAA Championships

This week NCAA Championship action kicks off for Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) teams.

Find out more information about SCIAC NCAA action

Whittier College (26-7) will begin play in the National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship on Tuesday, May 10. The Poets will begin in the play-in game for the second year in a row and again facing the Tritons of UC San Diego (26-19). UCSD will host the four teams competing for the last two berths in the tournament bracket through two play-in games both held at the Canyon View Aquatic Center on the campus of UCSD. Senior Angelica Hernandez, SCIAC Water Polo Athlete of the Year will look to get past the Tritons this year.

SCIAC Men’s Golf action in the NCAA Tournament runs May 10-13 at the Midvale Country Club and Mendon Golf Club in Rochester, New York. The Stags of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps received the automatic bid after winning the 2016 SCIAC Men’s Golf Championships. The tournament competition was hot this year with just three strokes separating the four teams at the top of the leaderboard on the morning of the final day. By the day’s end, the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's golf team had moved from fourth to first place and ran away from the field to win the SCIAC Championships by 13 strokes. The win marked the 11th in program history for CMS and second in the last three seasons under 2016 Coach of the Year Bim Jollymour.

The University of Redlands will represent the SCIAC in the 2016 Women’s Golf Championships. Without an automatic qualification in the SCIAC, the squad was selected as only one of four at-large teams to join the 21 automatic qualifiers. The tournament will be held at the Bay Oaks Country Club from May 10-13 and is hosted by The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and Harris County-Houston Sports Authority. The Bulldogs led by SCIAC Athlete of the Year Caroline Ordian have won back-to-back SCIAC titles in the past two seasons.

Two SCIAC institutions will once again face each other in the second round of the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship.  It will be a rematch of the SCIAC Championship game as Chapman will travel to Pomona-Pitzer for a match-up on Sunday, May 15 at 4:00 p.m.  This is the first time in school history Chapman has earned a spot in the NCAA Championship while it is the third straight appearance for the Pomona-Pitzer in the dance.  All three meetings between Panthers and Sagehans have been close contests.  The Sagehens were victorious in the SCIAC Championship game 10-9 but fell in the other two contests to the Panthers by scores of 13-11 and 9-8.  Pomona-Pitzer is led by the 2016 SCIAC Athlete of the Year Aubrey Douglass who amassed 38 assists and 59 ground balls.  The Sagehens also boast the Defensive Player of the Year as Ally McLaughlin earned that award for the third straight year after registering 84 ground balls and 42 caused turnovers. Chapman offensively will look towards first team All-SCIAC recipients Gretchen Rodenberger (29 goals) and Brooke Martini (26 goals). 

In men's tennis No. 2 ranked CMS (25-4) secured hosting rights for NCAA 2nd and 3rd round matches on May 13-14 at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center. As the SCIAC AQ recipient the Stags received a first round bye and will face UC Santa Cruz on Friday, May 13 at 2 p.m. The winner of that match will face the winner of Whitman v. Texas-Tyler on Saturday, May 14.  The SCIAC saw five singles players and three doubles selected for the individual tournament which will be held at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan from May 26-28.  Skyler Butts and Glenn Hull got the nod from CMS, while both Graham Maassen and Jake Yasgoor were selected from Pomona-Pitzer. Chase Lipscomb ended his rookie campaign with a 21-3 record in singles and will represent Redlands.  Daniel Morkovine from CMS was selected as an alternate.   In doubles Butts and Morkovine (CMS), Maassen and Simonides (PP) and Jake Ly and Joey Dulle (Redlands) will represent the SCIAC. The team of Yasgoor and Jonathan Kim was selected as an alternate. 

Both CMS and Pomona-Pitzer will be making an appearance in the NCAA Division III women's championship as No. 4 CMS was selected to host the first through third round regional at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center on May 13-15.  The 49-team field includes Trinity (Texas), Texas-Tyler, Lewis &Clark and UC Santa Cruz that will all travel to CMS for the regional. CMS plays the Trinity/Texas-Tyler winner while Pomona-Pitzer faces the winner of UC Santa Cruz and Lewis & Clark.  The winner of those two matches will play on Sunday.  The SCIAC women will be well represented in the individual tournament which will be held at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan from May 26-28 as Katie Kousman (CMS), Caroline Ward (CMS), Caroline Casper (PP), Maryann Zhao (PP) and Natalie Etchegaray (UR) were all selected for the singles competition. Ward and Kousman, Emily Chen and Zhao and Etchegaray and Lauren Villanueva will be part of the 16-team doubles field. 

As the SCIAC AQ winner the Clarmont-Mudd-Scripps softball team earned a spot in the west regional hosted by Whitman.  CMS earned the top seed followed by Whitman, No. 3 Linfield and No. 4 George Fox. The Athenas open up play on Friday, May 13 at 3:30 p.m. against No. 4 George Fox and will lean on SCIAC Pitcher of the Year Anna Gurr to keep the opposing offense at bay with her 1.14 ERA. Offensively, CMS will look to all-SCIAC first teamers Tara Robinson and Katie Savard who lead the team in hitting .426 and .373 respectively. 

CLU (31-11) will represent the SCIAC in the Division III Baseball Championship as it travels to Spokane, Washington for the Regional hosted by Whitworth.  The Kingsmen were seeded No. 2 behind Trinity (Texas) and will open up play against UT-Tyler on Wednesday, May 18 at 3:15 p.m. The other teams at the regional include Case Western Reserve, Whitworth and Pacific Lutheran.